The Wuerffel Trophy

The Wuerffel Trophy


Why was the Wuerffel Trophy created?  We felt that there was a void in major college football awards. Mike Bianchi of the Orlando Sentinel put it best when he wrote, “The Wuerffel. The Humanitarian Heisman. It’s about time. There’s an award for the best quarterback, best running back, wide receiver, best linebacker, best center, and even best kicker and punter. Why not one for the best human being?” For us, Danny Wuerffel is the perfect person to have this award named after. He represents that which is good in the world, and truly dedicates his life to community service in the highest form.  Danny embodies the three categories of the award: Academics, Athletics and Community Service.

The Wuerffel Trophy, presented by the Chick-fil-A® Foundation, is the only major college football award that places the majority of its voting emphasis on Community Service.  Danny said of his feelings of the Wuerffel Trophy upon inception, “It will inspire other people to be community-minded, to live for others, to sacrifice their own interests for the benefit of the community and other people.”

The Wuerffel Trophy is proud to work in conjunction with the All Sports Association to present the award to the FBS (formerly Division 1) football player that best combines exemplary community service with academic and athletic achievement annually at the All Sports Banquet.

The Wuerffel Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association.  The NCFAA membership is made up of 25 of the most prestigious awards in college football.  Formed in 1997, the stated purpose of the association is to “protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence, and prestige of college football’s various awards.”  The association also encourages professionalism and the highest standards possible for the administration of college football awards and the selection of their winners.

Past recipients of the Wuerffel Trophy are:

  • 2019 – Jon Wassink – Western Michigan
  • 2018 – Drue Tranquill – Notre Dame
  • 2017 – Courtney Love – Kentucky
  • 2016 – Trevor Knight – Texas A & M
  • 2015 – Ty Darlington – Oklahoma
  • 2014 – Deterrian Shackelford – Ole Miss
  • 2013 – Gabe Ikard – Oklahoma
  • 2012 – Matt Barkley – USC
  • 2011 – Barrett Jones – Alabama
  • 2010 – Sam Acho – Texas
  • 2009 – Tim Hiller – Western Michigan
  • 2008 – Tim Tebow – Florida
  • 2007 – Paul Smith – Tulsa
  • 2006 – Joel Penton – Ohio State
  • 2005 – Rudy Niswanger – LSU
ncfaa logo



Stay Up To Date

Recieve all the latest news and updates from the All Sports Association